Ishaq Dar unanimously elected chairman of electoral reforms committee

Ishaq Dar unanimously elected chairman of electoral reforms committee

ISLAMABAD, (SANA): Federal Finance Minister Senator Muhammad Ishaq Dar has been elected chairman of the 33-memebr Special Parliamentary Committee on Election Reforms unanimously. Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf also reposed confidence on Dar for the chairmanship of the committee.

A meeting of the Parliamentary Committee on Electoral Reforms was held at the Parliament House in Islamabad on Wednesday. The parliamentary committee is consisting on 16 parliamentary parties. The leaders of the 16 parliamentary parties have started working for the electoral reforms in country.

Chaired by Speaker of the National Assembly Sardar Ayaz Sadiq, it was attended by members belonging to PML-N, PPP, PTI, JUI-F, ANP, PML-Q, BNP, PKMAP, who unanimously elected Ishaq Dar as its Chairperson. Sardar Ayyaz Sadiq held meeting with the members of the committee and assured his full support during the working of the committee.

Later talking to media, Chairman of the Committee Ishaq Dar said it would be their effort to complete the task assigned to the body in the stipulated timeframe. He said all political parties want comprehensive electoral reforms. He said the work of electoral reforms would be completed unanimously.

Ishaq Dar said he always kept politics aside when it came to national issues and he would discharge his new responsibility in an amiable manner. He said the suggestions regarding the electoral reforms would be sought. He said the committee would complete its working prior to end of specific period. He said the strategic plan of election commission would also be reviewed.

The next meeting of the Committee would be held on Monday when it will frame its rules and regulations.

The purpose of the first meeting was to elect the chairman, after which its members would formulate the terms of reference for the smooth functioning of the committee.

The bi-partisan committee, constituted on July 25, has been tasked to “evaluate the shortcomings of the previous electoral process and make recommendations to hold free, fair and transparent elections” in the future.

Meeting of the committee was attended by Mian Raza Rabbani, Zahid Hamid, Syed Naveed Qamar, Senator Muhammad Ishaq Dar, Mushahid Hussain Syed, Aftab Ahmed Khan Sherpao, Rafiq Rajwana, Shazia Marri, Ijazul Haq, Shafqat Mehmood, Abdul Qadir Baloch, Anousha Rehman, Murtaza Javed Abbasi, Abdul Hakeem Baloch, Abdul Rahim Mandokhel, Dr Arif Alvi, Dr Shireen Mazari, Sheikh Rashid Ahmed Senator Haji Adeel, Senator Kulsoom Parveen and Talha Mehmood.

Comments are closed.



May 2021